Ruston Car Accident Attorney
Getting Back on Your Feet After a Serious Crash
A serious car accident can change your life in an instant. After the crash, you may find yourself hospitalized and struggling to navigate new, unexpected injuries. These injuries may even be so severe, they leave you permanently disabled. You could be facing weeks or months off work, and you may even be unable to return to full capacity for years.
At Morris & Dewett Injury Lawyers, we understand the immense, far-reaching impact car accidents have, not only on victims but on their loved ones and families, as well. We believe that you should not have to simply deal with these consequences on your own, especially when someone else’s negligence is to blame.
If you were injured in a car accident in Ruston or the surrounding areas, turn to our firm for the legal guidance and representation you need. Our experienced and award-winning attorneys are here to answer your questions and advocate for you. We proudly serve all of Lincoln Parish and the entire state of Louisiana and have recovered millions of dollars in compensation for our clients.
Contact us today at (888) 492-5532 to learn why more than 1,200 clients have given us five-star reviews online! Your initial consultation is completely free.
What to Do After a Car Accident
The steps you take immediately after an accident can have a huge impact on the outcome of your future personal injury claim.
If you are involved in a car accident, regardless of how minor or major it may seem, be sure to do the following:
- Stay at the Scene: You should always remain at the scene of the accident. Leaving without identifying yourself and/or attempting to render reasonable aid to others involved in the crash is known as a “hit-and-run,” and it is illegal in Louisiana. Even if the accident seems minor, remain at the scene until you can make sure everyone is okay and exchange information with the other driver/people involved.
- Call 911/Seek Medical Attention: If you or anyone else appears gravely injured, call 911. Do not move anyone with severe injuries (unless absolutely necessary) but, instead, wait for paramedics to arrive. Even if you do not believe yourself to be injured, or if your injuries seem minor, you should always seek medical attention after any motor vehicle accident. If you are not treated at the scene, see a doctor as soon as possible.
- Exchange Information: At the scene, if possible, exchange information with the other driver/other parties involved in the crash. You should provide your name, contact information, and insurance information and get the name, contact information, and insurance information of the other parties. When talking to the other driver involved, remain calm. Avoid admitting fault (including apologizing) or assigning blame.
- File a Police Report: By law, you must report any accident that results in injury, death, or property damage of more than $500 to law enforcement. If the accident resulted in injury, death, or estimated property damage of $100 or more, you must also provide a written report to the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections no more than 24 hours after the crash. The best way to report the accident is to have the police come out to the scene.
- Document the Crash: You will also want to document the accident, including the actual crash scene. If possible, take pictures of your vehicle, including its position immediately after the crash, as well as the other person’s vehicle. You should also take pictures of your injuries and write down everything you can remember about the accident as soon as possible. If there are witnesses, try to get their name(s) and contact information.
- Preserve Evidence: You should avoid having your vehicle repaired or throwing away torn or bloody clothing until an investigation can be made into the accident. It is important to preserve as much evidence as possible, as this can provide invaluable support for your claim. If you absolutely must have your car or vehicle repaired, be sure to take extensive photos of it beforehand and preserve any other applicable evidence that could be relevant to your case.
- Notify Your Insurance Provider: You should notify your own insurance provider about the accident as soon as possible. Depending on the specific language of your policy, you may be required to report the accident to your insurance company within a matter of hours or days to avoid penalties. Be clear, concise, and honest with your insurance company, but avoid saying anything that could be construed as admitting fault.
- Avoid Speaking to the Other Person’s Insurance Company: Insurance adjusters from the other driver’s insurance company will likely reach out to you in the hours or days after the accident. They may even come to your home or the hospital where you are staying. You should always avoid speaking to anyone from the other party’s insurance company and never accept any settlement offers before speaking to a lawyer.
- Contact an Attorney: The best way to protect yourself after a serious car accident is to contact an attorney who can stand up for you and your rights. Look for a personal injury attorney with experience in car and motor vehicle accident claims, as well as a history of success in securing favorable settlements and verdicts for their clients.
Whether it has been a few hours, a few days, or several weeks since the crash, reach out to Morris & Dewett Injury Lawyers to learn how our Ruston car accident lawyers can help you get back on your feet.
What Compensation Can You Recover After a Car Crash?
A sudden, severe accident can leave you struggling to cope with serious physical, financial, and emotional hardships. Collectively, these losses are referred to as “damages.” By filing a car accident claim, you can seek monetary compensation for all damages you suffer as a result of the crash.
Depending on the specifics of your case, this may include:
- Ambulance fees
- Emergency care costs
- Surgeries, rehabilitation, and other treatments
- Ongoing and future medical expenses
- Pain and suffering
- Lost income, wages, and other employment benefits
- Lost future earnings
- Lost earning capacity due to disability
- Counseling services/therapy
- In-home assistance and care
- Home modifications to accommodate a disability
- Emotional distress and trauma
- Lost enjoyment of life
Our Ruston car accident lawyers will evaluate your claim to determine which types of damages may apply. In every case, we work tirelessly to maximize our clients’ recoveries and hold negligent parties accountable.
Finding the Right Attorney
Working with a car accident lawyer can make all the difference, both in terms of your stress and the outcome of your case. But how do you find the right attorney?
Because car accident claims can be very complex, you want someone who not only knows the law but also has a documented history of success in these types of cases. There is no substitute for experience. You also want an attorney who will be there for you, available to take your call or meet with you to discuss the specifics of your case and provide consistent updates throughout the process. This is an extremely difficult time in your life; you deserve a lawyer who will not only serve as your legal advocate but also your guide and a partner in your recovery.
At Morris & Dewett Injury Lawyers, we put our clients first. We are proud to have more than 1,200 five-star reviews online, because this demonstrates the tangible ways our attorneys have helped real people navigate various challenges—and come out the other side. When you choose our firm, you will be treated as more than a client; you will receive the same care and attention we would hope for if we were in your shoes.
Our team is ready to stand up for you and help you navigate the aftermath of a serious auto or motor vehicle accident. There are no fees unless/until we win your case.
Contact us online or call (888) 492-5532 now to get started with a free initial consultation.
Car Accident FAQ
How long do I have to file a car accident claim in Louisiana?
The statute of limitations, or time to file, for car accident claims in Louisiana is just one year from the date of the accident. This means you only have a year to bring a lawsuit and, if you miss this one-year deadline, your case will almost certainly be dismissed.
When should I hire an attorney after a car accident?
You should hire a car accident attorney if you believe another person or party was at fault (even partially) for the crash. It is a good idea to hire a lawyer for any car accident claim, as this increases your chance of a higher, better settlement, but you should always work with a lawyer if you experience any issues with the insurance company or your claim in general. Reach out to our team at Morris & Dewett Injury Lawyers today to learn more.
Is it worth getting a lawyer for a minor car accident?
Yes! Even after a minor car accident, an attorney will be there to protect your rights. Although it may seem like the faster, easier option to accept the insurance company’s initial settlement, their offer does not consider your ongoing or future losses. Even a minor car accident could lead to chronic pain and lasting injuries, not to mention weeks or months of missed work (and lost wages). A lawyer can help ensure that you do not make any mistakes during the claims filing process that could ultimately jeopardize your recovery.
How much does a personal injury attorney cost?
Personal injury lawyers, including those at Morris & Dewett Injury Lawyers, provide their services on a contingency fee basis. This means that they collect fees via a percentage of the client’s settlement or verdict. There are no upfront or out-of-pocket expenses for the client and, if the attorney does not secure a settlement or verdict on the client’s behalf, the client does not pay.
Place your Second Question here?
What percentage do accident lawyers take?
While the percentage of a client’s settlement or verdict used to pay attorney fees varies, most contingency fees range between 33 and 40% of the total amount. Our team is happy to discuss our fees and pay structure with you during a no-cost, no-obligation consultation.